RECIPE: Thai-flavoured Sweet Potato Chowder (reblog)

IMG_4679I made soup yesterday. Aaaaaaaaand it actually turned out delicious. Like surprisingly tasty! It’s definitely my new favourite soup, which doesn’t come as a surprise, because it’s built on the idea of my previous favourite soup combined with this one, which is a variation of Nigella Lawson’s Chowder with Asian Flavours. Anyway the idea is to add Thai/Asian flavours to my already dearly loved sweet potato soup. Try it, honestly it’s probably my favourite recipe on here so far! The recipe is for 3-4 people.
IMG_4678

♠ Preheat the oven to 190° C
♠ Peel one large (or two regular) sweet potato(s) and cut it in little cubes (like 1cm x 1cm roughly)
♠ Marinate them in a little olive oilcayenne pepper, and salt (don’t go crazy with the spices though, there’ll be plenty of other flavours in the soup!)
♠ Spread the cubes evenly on a baking tray and bake until they’re cooked throughout (slightly crispy on the outside and wonderfully soft inside, around 20-30 minutes, but depends entirely on your oven). Whilst this is happening, get on with the base of your soup:
♠ Bring 1.25l of vegetable stock to the boil in a big saucepan
♠ Add 1 leek (cut into thin slices) and cook for 10 minutes
♠ Add 1 can of coconut milk, 1/2 chopped red chili and bring to the boil again, then turn off the heat and mix in a generous handful of chopped up fresh coriander
♠ Once the sweet potato cubes are done, mix them into the soup and blend it all together
♠ Add 1 small tin of sweetcorn, a bunch of spring onions (chopped into thin slices) and the juice of a lime (taste as you go, anything between half a lime and a whole lime should do the job depending on how citrus-y you like it) and serve with some nice Baguette.

Enjoy :) If you make it, please let me know how you like it!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “RECIPE: Thai-flavoured Sweet Potato Chowder (reblog)

  1. Coconut milk, sweet potatoes, coriander and (now newly) leeks… sold. This might be the first soup I’ll make when I finally get a hand blender (soon). Really good blog. You’ve been blogging for ages! I’ll come back to have a look into your archive for more recipes ;)

    • kirschplunder says:

      You should, I actually think this might be my favourite recipe on here so far. I have, but I’m trying to take it more serious at the moment :) Let me know if you try anything!

  2. This soup looks soooo yummy! I’m definitely going to give this a try! xxx

    http://thiswomansstyle.com/

  3. Did it today and…DELICIOUS. I love that it has that spicy flavour, paired with the sweet taste of the sweetpotato and last but not least the sour and refreshing taste of the lime juice.
    I think I’ll do this over and over throughout the summer! Perfect summer soup!
    Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

