RECIPE: Beetroot and Horseradish Pesto

Hejhej. I thought you might be wondering what happened to the little bad boys above! When I blogged about what I had done with the vegetables from the veggie box so far I said something about using the beetroot to make some sort of pasta sauce, but I don’t want to lie to you, I did not have the slightest idea of how this was going to happen! I thought maybe a pesto would be nice, but Daniel has a nut allergy, which limits you somewhat in the pesto area (we’re currently trying to find out if pine nuts are ok, they should be).

So I thought I’d just start and see where I would end up. Ok so after my little start I had roasted beetroot. Nowhere near a pasta sauce yet. But then I had a look in the fridge and saw a little sad jar of horseradish which accusingly looked at me with a look that pretty much said “pleeeeeeeease use me”. So I gave in (ok it might have mainly been because I thought it could have the potential to taste nice, but don’t you like my little sad horseradish story better?). I was actually pretty chuffed with the result, so I thought I’d share the recipe with you. I’m not going into much detail quantity-wise, because it entirely depends on how much you like horseradish (and feta), but just keep trying as you go along. That’s what I did.

1. Roast your beetroot. To do this cut off the two ends of your fresh beetroot and cover in a tiny bit of olive oil. Wrap in silver foil and put in the oven at about 190° for about an hour (yeah yeah very precise, but it depends on your oven and your beetroot and what not, so just check after an hour and if they’re nice and tender take them out, if not give them a bit more time).

2. Let them cool down.

3. Peel them using a regular cutlery knife. If they’re cooked properly this should be pretty easy.

4. Now let’s talk pesto. In a food processor (or a mortar) grind together a small handfull of sunflower seeds, your (peeled) beetroot, a little olive oil (preferably a nice quality one), (about) 2 teaspoons of horseradish (from a jar) and a two finger thick chunk of feta cheese. (You can also add garlic, I didn’t because I had the pesto with wild garlic pasta).

5. DONE! If anyone actually makes this, please let me know what you thought :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

