REVIEW: The Haven, Bistro and Bar

Yesterday I went for a meal with D.’s family to a lovely restaurant called The Haven. I liked this place from the very first minute, it’s very spacious (without being impersonal) and is decorated tastefully. A couple of specials are written on a big board on the wall, and the other delicious possibilities are presented on a plein but nice Din A4 Page menu.

I recently made the decision to try and choose something in nice restaurants, that I couldn’t make myself (or maybe could, but wouldn’t know how), so I do look at pasta (but mainly to get ideas for what I could cook at home) but I try to force myself against it so I get to try new things. This time this strategy definitely paid off!

It was really hard to choose but in the end I went for the Millefeuille of Spinach, Mushrooms, Butternut Squash and Grilled Artichokes. It did say “NO pastry”, but silly as I am, I thought that there must be something pastry like, maybe something that wouldn’t be called pastry. There just had to be something with carbs, the main logic being that I love carbs.

When the food arrived, I was a bit disappointed (at first) to see that what I got was a plate of vegetable. Pretty yes, but a plate full of vegetable, seriously???
In case you didn’t get it yet, I’m not the biggest fan of vegetable. I’m slowly trying to corporate them into my meals, but I’m really not mad about them. Well, usually I’m not, yesterday might have changed me a little bit. But let me first show you, what I actually got:

Looks nice, right? And believe me, it tasted even nicer! It was so so so good. Every single vegetable was completely on the point, and especially the butternut squash was just a dream! This was the kind of meals that just leaves you feeling really satisfied and full, whilst still good about yourself (Pizza fulfills number 1 and 2 as well, but feeling good about yourself? Not so much…). The flavour was so amazing!
I was a little bit like a teenie, that got kissed/touched by someone they like, who don’t want to wash that part of their body ever again: I didn’t want to eat anything else ever again OR brush my teeth (D. quickly reminded me that this would be a bit gross for me and  the people around me), so I decided to not give up on brushing my teeth and even more importantly (at least for my taste buds) FOR dessert!

It was really hard to choose between vanilla cheesecake, sticky toffee pudding, banoffee pie and the like. I decided to stick to my “order something you don’t have a clue what it will be“ theme I had on the night though and ordered the summerberry pudding with clotted cream. 

This was really nice and as promised: summery and refreshing. I still don’t really know what it was, it was something spongey on the outside, which was filled with berries. It was sharp in flavour but still very delicious.

All in all a very delightful evening, if you ever are in that area, it’s well worth a visit!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “REVIEW: The Haven, Bistro and Bar

  1. [...] new thing. You might have read that I had another version of it here in the same week, which I was positively surprised by, so I decided to try out The Gate’s version. And again, I had a great time eating it. This [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

